City of Independence, Missouri

Slovak Sister City Committee
Res. #6606


The function of this committee is to actively support the Sister City Program of Sister Cities International and seek to establish a closer more lasting relationship with the City of Martin, Slovakia.

Membership Information

The committee shall consist of 14 members, evenly split between the cities of Independence, Missouri and Sugar Creek, Missouri, and may include members of the Czech Slovak Club of Greater Kansas City. Mayors of Independence and Sugar Creek, ex-officio, shall be included; and the remaining members shall be appointed by the respective City Councils for overlapping three terms; except that of the original members appointed to the committee, two (2) shall be for a term of one (1) year, six (6) shall be appointed for a term of two (2) years, and six (6) shall be appointed for a term of three (3) years; said members to serve upon this committee without compensation.


NameTitleExpirationAppointed By
Blahutova, Iveta 12/07/2023Council
Kohan, Grace 07/19/2023Council
Magnuson, Jana 09/07/2023Council
Marine, Ross 12/07/2023Council
Pavlovic, Robert 12/07/2023Council
Szturo, John 07/19/2023Council
Valasek, Sharon 10/18/2022Council

Alternate Members

NameTitleExpirationAppointed By

 Back to Boards and Commissions List