Water Pollution Control

Household Hazardous Waste

Regional Household Hazardous Waste Collection Program

    The City of Independence is a member of the Regional Household Hazardous Waste Collection Program.  This service is coordinated by the Mid-America Regional Council (MARC), and provides Independence residents year-round access to both Kansas City and Lee's Summit HHW facilities.  Residents can also attend any of the mobile events in the metro area scheduled April through October.  Please bring ID to show you are an Independence resident.  For more information please visit recyclespot.org and click on the “HHW” tab or call (816) 701-8226. Business waste is not accepted.

2019 HHW Mobile Collections 

Kansas City HHW Facility

4707 Deramus St. (south of the Chouteau Bridge)
Kansas City, MO 64120
Phone: (816) 513-8400
Open Thursday & Friday: 9 am - 6 pm and Saturday 9 am - 4 pm


Lee's Summit HHW Facility

2101 S Hamblen Road (Lee's Summit Resource Recovery Park)
Lee's Summit, MO 64082
Phone: (816) 550-1612
    A typical home contains a vast array of hazardous products used for cleaning, beautifying and disinfecting, such as lawn and garden pesticides/herbicides, paint, automotive fluids, etc. Chemical-based household products from a single home may seem insignificant, but when thousands of homes use similar products, the combined effect becomes a major problem if they are handled, stored or disposed of improperly. The health and safety of people and animals, as well as the environment, is endangered when these types of products are discarded in the trash, poured down sinks or into storm drains.

2019 Mobile Collection Event Schedule:

April 7 Independence Independence Square/Walnut and Liberty Streets 9 am - 1 pm
April 27 Blue Springs Pink Hill Park - 2715 NW Park Drive 8 am - Noon
May 11  Gladstone Happy Rock Park - North Antioch at 76th St 8 am - Noon
June 1  Harrisonville Streets Department - 1403 S Independence 8 am - Noon
June 15  Liberty Liberty School Services - 801 Kent St 8 am - Noon
August 3 Grandview City Maintenance Facility - 7000 E. 139th Street 8 am - Noon 
August 17  Platte County/Weston/Platte City Platte Ridge Park - 17130 MO Hwy 371 (North of Platte City) 8 am - Noon
Sept. 7  Raymore/Belton Eagle Glen Intermediate School, 100 S. Foxridge Dr., Raymore 8 am - Noon
Sept. 21  Smithville Smithville High School, 645 S Commercial 8 am - Noon
Oct. 5 Jackson County/Grain Valley Jackson County Public Works - 34900 E Old US 40 Hwy
between Grain Valley and Oak Grove
8 am - Noon
 Oct. 26 Kearney Mack Porter Park, 1001 N. MO Hwy 33 8 am - Noon



2019 HHW Participating Communities
Belton Kearney Pleasant Valley
Blue Springs Lake Lotawana Raymore
Cleveland Lake Tapawingo Riverside
Excelsior Springs Lake Waukomis Smithville
Lake Winnebago Sugar Creek
Glenaire Lee's Summit Weston
Grain Valley Liberty Unincorporated Clay County*
Greenwood Lone Jack Unincorporated Jackson County*
Harrisonville North Kansas City Unincorporated Platte County*
Independence Parkville  
Kansas City, Mo. Platte City  

Unincorporated county membership in the Regional HHW Collection Program allows residents of communities with populations less than 500 to access program services at no charge.

* In Clay County this includes residents of Mosby, Missouri City, Prathersville, Randolph, Birmingham, Holt, Oakview, Oakwood, Oakwood Park and Oaks.

* In Jackson County this includes residents of Levasy, River Bend, Sibley and Unity Village.

* In Platte County this includes residents of Tracy, Platte Woods, Farley, Northmoor, Houston Lake, Iatan, Ridgely, and Ferrelview.

For more information about the City’s Household Hazardous Waste Disposal Program
please call Water Pollution Control at (816) 325-7727.