City Council

Mayor Eileen Weir

Mayor Eileen Weir

Phone: (816) 325-7027
Fax: (816) 325-7012

Mayor Eileen Weir was elected in April, 2014 for a four-year term. Prior to being elected as the City’s 50th Mayor, and 2nd female Mayor, she served as Independence Councilwoman for the 4th District from 2012-2014.

Boards and Commissions

  • City Council Interview Committee
  • City Council Employee Advisory Committee
  • City Council Transportation Advisory Committee
  • Mayor’s Advisory Commission on the Visual Arts
  • Japanese Sister City Committee
  • Independence Harry S Truman Award Commission
  • Independence Economic Development Council Board of Directors
  • Mid-America Regional Council Board of Directors
  • Little Blue Valley Sewer District Board of Trustees
  • United Services Community Action Agency Board of Directors
  • KC Rising Steering Committee
  • Mayor's Prayer Committee


  • United States Conference of Mayors
  • National League of Cities
  • Missouri Municipal League
  • Eastern Jackson County Betterment Council
  • Kansas City Metro Mayors Caucus
  • Independence Chamber of Commerce
  • Greater Kansas City Chamber of Commerce

From The Mayor's Desk

Readers of the book For The Love Of Cities are encouraged to participate in an online discussion that Mayor Eileen Weir will be conducting via her  Facebook page. The chat will center around many of the topics and themes found in the book and will be held on Saturday, May 30th at 9:30am.

2015 State of the City

 View transcript