City of Independence, Missouri

Senator Claire McCaskill named 2020 Harry S Truman Public Service Award Recipient

 The Independence Harry S. Truman Award Commission has chosen Sen. Claire McCaskill as the 2020 Harry S. Truman Public Service Award recipient. This year’s award will be presented in a digital ceremony shared live on the City’s social media platforms. The award, established in 1974 by the City of Independence, is presented annually to an outstanding American citizen who best typifies and possesses the qualities of dedication, industry, ability, honesty and integrity that distinguished President Harry S. Truman.

“We are proud to honor Sen. Claire McCaskill with the Harry S Truman Public Service Award,” Mayor Eileen Weir said. “Throughout her public service, Sen. McCaskill has embodied the no nonsense attitude President Truman was so well known for but like him, she also knows how to work across party lines to get things done. President Truman played a unique role in our country’s history, and this award has become nationally recognized. This is something all Independence residents should be proud of.”

Sen. McCaskill is the 46th recipient of this National Honor and will join the elite list of honorees which includes: former presidents Jimmy Carter, Gerald Ford and Bill Clinton; World War II veteran and U.S. Senator Robert J. Dole; veterans of the Iraq and Afghanistan Wars; former U. S. Senators Jack Danforth and John McCain; as well as patriotic women Coretta Scott King, Margaret Truman Daniel, Mother Clara Hale and Mary Jean Eisenhower; and most recently University of California President and former Secretary of Homeland Security Janet Napolitano.

Claire McCaskill is a current NBC political analyst and former US Senator.  When she left the Senate in  2019, she was the top-ranking Democrat on the Homeland Security Committee and a senior member of the Armed Services Committee. Before joining the Senate in 2006, McCaskill was Missouri's State Auditor and before that, the elected prosecutor of Jackson County. She is the only woman ever elected to the Senate from Missouri and the only person in Missouri history to unseat a sitting Governor in a primary campaign. McCaskill lives in St. Louis with her husband and is a grandmother of 12.

This year’s Special Recognition Award will be given to the Japanese Sister City Program, which has helped connect the City of Independence with Higashimurayama, Japan, for more than four decades.

The Harry S. Truman Public Service Award Presentation Ceremony will take place on December 2 at 4 PM. It will be shared live on the City of Independence social media platforms and aired later on City 7 (Comcast/Xfinity Channel 7).