Municipal Court

Independence Youth Court

(816) 325-7750 or (816) 325-7107
youthct@indepmo.org

  • Court dates are held on the 2nd and 4th Thursdays each month, except where noted.
  • Court sessions begin at 5:00 PM and end when the dockets are completed which could be an anytime between 7:00 and 9:30 PM
  • On occasion a date may be changed or cancelled due to usage of the courtroom, holidays, etc. If there are questions about a date, please call the Youth Court office to confirm.
  • Bring completed application with you to the first night of training.

2018 Court Schedule

Sign in for attorneys: 5:10 PM

Date
Thursday, May 31, 2018
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Thursday, June 28, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018 CANCELED
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Thursday, August 23, 2018
Thursday, September 13, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018

2018 Attorney Training Schedule

Check in for training: 5:15 PM

Date
Check back in the Fall
Thursday, September 28, 2017
5:15 PM to 8:00 PM
Thursday, October 12, 2017
5:15 PM to 8:00 PM
Thursday, October 26, 2017
5:15 PM to 8:00 PM
Thursday, November 9, 2017
5:15 PM to 8:30 PM
Bar exam
Monday, November 20, 2017
7:00 PM to 8:30 PM
Graduation ceremony at Fort Osage High School
Attorney arrive at 6:00 PM
Guests for the graduation ceremony should not arrive before 6:50. Seating will not be available until 7:00.

Youth Court Attorneys: Check regularly with office personnel to verify court dates. On occasion, dates change or are canceled.

Location

City Hall
Municipal Court Chambers
111 E. Maple

Attire

COURTROOM ATTIRE SHOULD BE WORN TO ALL TRAINING SESSIONS.

For Youth Court purposes, “courtroom attire” is dress slacks (Not White, Khaki or Jeans). A dress shirt and tie for boys (suit jacket always looks nice), and for girls a dress shirt or blouse, (blouse should not be too short, tight or revealing). A sweater or jacket for girls is nice as well. A sweater is acceptable if it is at least 4 inches below the waist. Should attire not be acceptable you may be sent home to change, or not allowed to participate that night.


Printable Youth Court Application Form

Note: To view the application form online,
you may need to download the Acrobat Reader.