Health Department

About Us

Andrew Warlen, MPH, Health Director (816) 325-7986

Michael Jackson, MPH, Assistant Health Director; Environmental Public Health

(816) 325-7008
Christina Heinen, Public Health Manager; Acreditation (816) 325-7996
Shawnna Jackson, MSN, RN, Public Health Manager: Communicable Disease and Immunizations (816) 325-7188
Alicia Nelson, CHES, Public Health Manager; Disease Prevention (816)325-7006


Independence Health Department
515 S. Liberty Street
Independence, MO 64050
Administrative Offices     
Phone: (816) 325-7182
Fax: (816) 325-7098
Animal Services
Phone: (816) 325-7205
Code Compliance
Phone: (816) 325-7193
Disease Prevention
Phone: (816) 325-7185
Communicable Disease & Immunizations    
Phone: (816) 325-7185
Food & Institution
Phone: (816) 325-7194 

Board of Health

The Board of Health acts as an Advisory Board to the City Manager, Department of Health, and City Council on matters pertaining to public health. The Board also investigates and studies in the field of public health that, in its judgment, will be helpful in carrying out its general purposes. The Board consists of ten members who represent various professions directly concerned with general matters of health. Board members include four licensed medical practitioners at least two of whom must be physicians, one dentist, one veterinarian and four lay members.

Advisory Board of Health Members

Kathleen Bennett, RN

Howard Braby, MD

Lois McDonald

Donald Potts, MD

Billie Ray Preston

Ralph K. Ruckman, DDS, Chair

Rick Schrock, DVM

Christopher Sullivan, MD, Vice Chair

Jason White

Vacancy - Lay Member