Community Development

About Us

The Community Development Department, located at 111 E. Maple Avenue in City Hall is divided into six divisions:

  • Building Permits & Inspections
  • Code Compliance
  • Historic Preservation
  • Neighborhood & Housing Programs
  • Planning & Zoning
  • Regulated Industries

Most importantly, we work alongside citizen groups, the City Council, the Planning Commission, the Zoning Board of Adjustment and City Administration to ensure quality development throughout the City of Independence.