City of Independence, Missouri

Sustainability Commission


To develop and advise the Council on implementation of community wide strategies regarding waste reduction, recycling, and sustainable growth and development. To develop and implement public recognition programs promoting individual property and neighborhood level sustainability and beautification projects. To develop educational materials and/or public campaigns regarding litter reduction, recycling, and sustainable yard and property enhancements. To advise the City Council on any other issues and best practices related to sustainability as deemed appropriate by the Commission.

Membership Information

That the Sustainability Commission shall consist of seven members; who shall be residents of the City of Independence. Members shall serve without compensation and shall be removable at the pleasure of the City Council by a vote of at least five members of the City Council. The Commission will select their own Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, Secretary, and any other officers as they deem appropriate. Staggered terms will be generated by one (1) of the first members of the Commission serving one (1) year, three (3) serving two (2) years and three (3) for three (3) years. Thereafter, all members shall be appointed for three year terms; provided however, that all members shall continue in office until their successors have been appointed and qualified. Any vacancy shall be filled through appointment by the City Council for the period of the unexpired term.


NameTitleCategoryExpiration Date
Ferguson, Virginia10/1/2021
Kennedy, Maureen10/1/2021
Mayta, Connie10/1/2021
McGraw, Dan10/1/2020
Speaks, Mary Kay10/1/2020
Stuck, Rodric10/1/2020

Back to Boards and Commissions List