City of Independence, Missouri

Jackson County Animal Welfare Committee
18047 (1/22/2013)


This advisory committee promotes spay and neuter programs for household pets; supports education programs that promote the welfare and safety of animals; hears complaints regarding abuse or cruelty to animals when, in the committee’s opinion, such complaints have not been satisfactorily addressed by any applicable enforcement or animal welfare agency; and investigates charges of unethical treatment of animals.

Membership Information

Formed by an amended intergovernmental agreement between Jackson County and the City of Independence related to the Regional Animal Shelter, the Committee is comprised of five members who serve two-year terms. The County Executive appoints two members and the Mayor appoints three members. The Committee selects the chair from among the Committee members.


Cardwell, Jack 12/30/2021
Humphrey, Linda 12/30/2021
Marshall, Cindy 09/30/2019
Spearman, Francis 09/30/2019
Watkins, Tim 12/30/2021

Alternate Members


 Back to Boards and Commissions List