City of Independence, Missouri

Tax Increment Financing Commission
Ordinance No. 12226, 13802, 13838


This Board shall serve as an advisory body to the City Council under authority of Section 99.800 - 99.865 RSMo, keep records and minutes, meet at least annually and report annually to the Council, adopt rules and regulations for operation and to designate a Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, Treasurer and Secretary for one (1) year terms.

Membership Information

The Mayor, with consent of the Council, appoints six permanent members to four year overlapping terms which are to expire on November 16th. Two additional temporary members are appointed by Jackson County and one additional temporary member by "other taxing jurisdictions" and then two additional members are appointed by the school district(s) effected by any plan or redevelopment project.


Bruch, RonRegular Member11/16/2022
Dankenbring, Sharon Fort Osage R-1 School District  
Falck, Dale Blue Springs Schools  
Finke, Greg Independence School District  
Kormendi, GraceRegular Member11/16/2023
Kuny, Martin Regular Member/ Vice Chair 11/16/2020
Markley, Dr. Allan Raytown School District Superintendent  
Parsons, Tammy Regular Member 11/16/2020
Potter, Steve Library Director and CEO of Mid-Continent Public Library  
Roberson, Blake Independence School District  
Ruddy, Dr. John Fort Osage R-1 School District  
Shelton, Steve Raytown School District Associate Superintendent  
Shirk, SueRegular Member / Chair11/16/2022
Siragusa, Debbie KC Public Libraries  
Sweeney, Jr., John M. Jackson Co. Development Incentive Coordinator  
Trosen, Mark Deputy Chief Operating Officer  
Watkins Davis, GrantRegular Member11/16/2023
Woolf, Jason Blue Springs Schools  

Alternate Members


View Videos of Previous Meetings

 Back to Boards and Commissions List