City of Independence, Missouri

Heritage Commission


The duties of the Commission are to initiate, review and recommend properties for designation as a Landmark, Historic District, or Conservation District; establish specific design guidelines and review all applications for the alteration, construction, relocation or demolition of Landmarks or buildings within designated Historic or Conservation Districts for a Certificate of Appropriateness; to review all applications for all demolition permits for a Certificate of Appropriateness; review all special use permits effecting any designated property; to initiate, review, and make recommendations concerning National Register nominations to City Council and State Historic Preservation Officer; to initiate, develop and maintain cultural resource survey and inventory; to work with various governmental agencies on matters involving historic properties in the City; to recommend the application for grants, gifts or bequests to further historic preservation; and to review denials of a Certificate of Appropriateness or a Certificate of Economic Hardship. The Commission makes its recommendations to the Planning Commission and the City Council.

Membership Information

The City Council shall appoint the seven members, in addition to the Director of the Harry S Truman Library and Supt. of Harry S Truman Historic Site (or their designee), to serve for terms of three years to expire on April 1. No member shall serve for more than two full consecutive terms, and no member shall then be reappointed in less than three years.


NameTitleExpirationAppointed By
Conley, Austin 04/01/2022Council Interview Committee/Council
Dage, CarolNat Park Serv Council Interview Committee/Council
Grotenhuis, RohnChair04/01/2021Council Interview Committee/Council
Parker, KalynSecretary04/01/2023Council Interview Committee/Council
Pierce, Daniel 04/01/2023Council Interview Committee/Council
Rushay, SamTruman Library Council Interview Committee/Council
Stephens, DuaneVice-Chair04/01/2022Council Interview Committee/Council
Tharp, Dennis 04/01/2023Council Interview Committee/Council
Vacant due to resignation 04/01/2021Council Interview Committee/Council

Alternate Members

NameTitleExpirationAppointed By

 Back to Boards and Commissions List